Montbretia

Up far too early and in Bantry by 9am laying out my little card stall! it was a big market today, lots of stalls and a great atmosphere plus a good steady trade. I was on my own today as Lisa was working, but Himself nobly came and did a stint so I could go for a pee and a cup of coffee. All human life was there and ready for a chat!

It's bank holiday here and the big regatta weekend in Ahakista. Tonight we are off to the pub quiz. Traditionally Canon P sets the questions and we all know what to expect (questions on the Simpsons and rugby, and his family winning) but this year, in impressive ecumenical spirit, Father G is doing the business - an unknown quantity! Last year we came third and I must dust the rather unpleasant trophy and take it with me tonight. Tomorrow is a big hill walk and dog show, not necessarily combined; and on Sunday is the regatta itself. In previous years I've been 'on teas' - thankfully this year I'm getting away with making a mound of sandwiches and then having my own stall for the cards. At the moment fog and drizzle are forecast but it could all change.

The hedgerows are looking fantastic - the montbretia is out, as is fuchsia, meadowsweet, purple loosestrife and ragwort - so colourful.
Have a great weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.