For the faithful departed

A rather odd day.  I didn't mean to but a couple of weeks ago I rashly I volunteered too help out with a community project. In the 1990s an eccentric Englishwoman died bequeathing her house and its contents to the community. She was an artist and Irishophile (I've just made that word up) and by all accounts very eccentric and colourful. She was also a great collector and set up her own museum. When she died her house was just chocabloc with stuff - old dairy equipment (it was the former butter house), ancient settles and tables,   and masses of paintings and photographs and books just piled up and rotting. There was even one of Queen Victoria's numerous voluminous nighties!   The community was aghast as there was no money to do anything but nearly 15 years later grants have been found, the house has been done up and some of the paintings restored. it is intended to make it into a little heritage and walking centre, and the museum being put back next year. A little tea room has just been added and that was where I was to be seen this morning.  I don't think I'm a natural waitress, big panic when the four customers came in - very nice Dutch people who were very patient.

A quick trip to a rather atmospheric graveyard on the way home.  Always very fascinating. I am intrigued by the little offerings left on the graves as in this case, two phials of holy water and a candle, newly placed. Mystery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.