La vida de Annie

By Annie

Transport issues

Sick of relying on the goodwill of others in getting out - after all, no-one likes to be used - I reasoned that physically I should be able to drive myself. My left leg is near useless but I have an automatic car so only use the right foot to drive. Checking the DVLA website I discovered that broken bones (except skull) need not be notified to them, and my insurance company said that as long as I have full control of the car I am fully covered, providing my doctor has not advised against driving. He hasn't, because I haven't asked him. Now all I need to do is ditch the meds which make me drowsy, and take some short trips to build up my confidence again. It will be good to get out, even if it means I can't get out of the car and gad around like I used to. It will be another challenge to overcome, just as tackling lots of stone steps on holiday has given me the strength and confidence to get up and down the stairs at home on my crutches instead of my bum, a major breakthrough....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.