La vida de Annie

By Annie

X is for...

... xylophone, which was one of the few instruments not available at a fun day organised by friend S for the disabled children's music group she co-runs. There were singalongs, solo performances, belly dancing led by the class I intermittently attend, lots to eat and drink, and a special appearance by the Mersey Beatles, who put on an Xcellent performance of many of the Fab Four's hits, and with authentic accents and Scouse humour to boot. It was a wonderful day of joy and laughter and lifting of spirits of families who struggle heroically and uncomplainingly with conditions I cannot imagine coping with. If you ever feel sorry for yourself, as I do, often, an event like this really shows you how precious life is, however limited, and how lucky most of us are. I felt quite tearful and humbled and overwhelmed by it all - overwhelmed also when I later discovered I'd taken 807 photos of the event for my friend. So far I've only got as far as weeding out the complete duds, but still have hundreds to edit.

The group's rendition of "Hey Jude" knocked its writer's singing at the Olympics Opening Ceremony into a cocked hat (not that it would take much to do that of course).

The enthusiastic peace sign here is courtesy of a young Downs Syndrome musician, who had the best dance moves I've ever seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.