tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Safely gathered in

The dog and I walk this way most days (it's the route to the sea) but I seem to have missed the hay harvest in these coastal fields. Mostly the grass is silaged but this parked-up tractor has an old-fashioned hay baler attached, and front loader for picking up the small rectangular bales. These balers were part of every farm's equipment when I was growing up but you don't see them so often now that bales are usually huge and round and wrapped in plastic.

Odd to feel nostalgic about machinery when an earlier generation might have hankered after a horse-drawn haywain.

It was a dull, muggy sort of day with mist gathering towards evening. Here it's already obscuring the view west towards Fishguard as it drifts in from the sea.

I'd like to thank everyone for all the interest shown in my yesterday's weed blip. I'm sorry if I haven't managed to get around to responding with equally attentive comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.