tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Blipping my 300th

For my 300th I've taken as my subject the window of our small bookshop in Fishguard and, at the risk of being somewhat solipsistic, have included a glimpse of myself, reflected.

We're lucky to have a bookshop at all when so many independent outlets are biting the dust. This one is doing all right and is especially strong on local interest books. It was that which drew my attention, for those you can see here represent many of my preoccupations during the course of the past 299 days' blipping.

At the top left is a book on Pembrokeshire featuring a cloudscape above a sandy beach, next to it a book with a Welsh title Atsain y Tonnau, meaning Echoes of the Waves. Below, two volumes of sea stories, a tide table such as I consult frequently, Ronald Lockley's Letters from Skokholm Island, a Welsh history book and another on Remote Britain (Landscape, People and Books), finally, on the right, the local Ordnance Survey map that I carry at all times.

Behind me, reflected, are a gift shop and bank over the road, complete with someone using the ATM. And from the cover of a book about Skomer Island a puffin is pecking my shoulder (I should be so lucky!)

Blipping has brought me a lot of interest, some frustration, and the unexpected pleasure of receiving feedback from, and exchanging comments with, a whole bunch of stimulating, amusing and reflective people from around the world. I'm grateful to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.