OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Zigzag wake

This is from the boat leaving Houton for Lyness on Hoy. Once there, I cycled south heading for the Martello tower at Hackness. When you reach North Ness the village of Longhope seems close enough, across a narrow stretch of water, to have a conversation with someone standing in a dorway of a village house. Then you go round the corner and ther are miles to go round North Bay.

At the Martello tower I photographed graffiti on the walls from soldiers and sailors here during the wars. I didn't really have enough time to explore much...I might try to get back next Friday when there are more sailings and I can stay longer.

There are much more bushes and small trees here than other parts of Orkney. Hoy is hilly so the east side of the island is pretty protected from the western winds. There were great clumps of honeysuckle on many bushes scenting the air as I cycled past.

More photos from the day here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.