Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Osso's Risotto

We had had a difficult day with some challenging behaviour from teenagers, so we decided that food therapy was required and booked dinner at Osso in Peebles. We have eaten there a good few times before and chef/partner Ally McGrath never disappoints. The great thing about Osso is that everything is great ? every detail of every dish.

I had the beetroot risotto in the picture for my starter and the taste was as brilliant as the colours. The blue-cheese croquette was incredibly strong but a perfect foil for the delicate sweetness of the risotto, and the pesto added another nice wee contrast. Madame had a crab salad with other bits (can?t remember what). We both had excellent Silver Mullet for mains, with a selection of perfectly done fresh vegetables, including beautiful green beans.

For dessert, I wanted the chocolate fondant, but another dessert included roasted strawberries. Feeling bold, I asked if I could have one roasted strawberry with my fondant and they obliged with two ? one each. Fantastic ? an intensity of strawberry flavour I have never experienced before. Beautiful wine to go with, and madame had her favourite Elysium Muscat to close.

The service too was friendly, welcoming and efficient. We?ll be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.