Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

An 'in tents' experience...

Cambridge Folk Festival Day 1

I arrived in Cambridge today for the annual Folk Festival. Established in 1965, it's widely considered to be the premier such event in England and attracts acts which prove just what a diverse, and sometimes unhelpful, term 'folk' music is.

By the time I made it to the campsite, my lovely friends Katie (left) and Cal were already there with a bunch of other friends and had very kindly saved me a space for my tent next to the magnificent yurt which they, rather impressively, made themselves (complete with red front door - as pictured). They're nothing if not talented! In fact, like Mary Poppins, they'd be 'practically perfect in every way' if only they didn't insist on living six hours away from me - in a beautiful house, with beautiful gardens, in a beautiful part of North Norfolk. I can't imagine what keeps them there! It's really most inconvenient!

Acts I saw this evening

London Lasses and Pete Quinn
Alex Patterson, Bryony and Grace Lemon
Chris Wood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.