Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

In Honour of Yorkshire Day...

...I made home made Fish and Chips with Mushy Peas!!!

The picture's not that great but remember it was my tea so I wasn't going to let it go cold while I messed about trying to get a great food shot!

The mushies were spur of the moment and apparently you're meant to get marrowfat peas and soak them overnight or something, but I didn't have time so I made this one up;

Take a big hunk of frozen peas and boil gently until they're almost soft enough to eat.

While you're doing this melt some butter (slowly!!). Use about 50 gms for a hunk of peas the size of a grapefruit.

Drain the peas, and put in the pan with the butter. Fry very slowly and you'll feel them get softer while you stir them.

Chop up some Fresh Mint - I used about 15 medium sized leaves, and stir into the peas with 2 teaspoon dollops of sour cream (this is all I had but it worked. And the dollops were big.)

Mix it well then chuck in a blender for a few seconds. Taste it and add salt and pepper as needed.

Add a bit of Red Wine Vinegar (or whatever you've got to give it a bit of something) and blend till the texture's how you like it.

Chuck it back in the pan to warm it back up again.

Lovely Emergency Yorkshire Mushy Peas! (Even if I do say so myself :o) )

Sithee later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.