Captivating

By katish

The Storms of Life

We have a thunderstorm currently moving through our area. It reflects the mood of today, I think. In the past year, I've gone through lots of changes, and growth. I suppose I'm transitioning into adulthood, and that's scary and somewhat painful maybe mostly in realizing that life is truly hard. It's not like I haven't had my share of sufferings in life but perhaps in coming to the crossroads (the end of college and the start of something new), I've had to process a lot of things about myself, about others, and life in general. And the conclusion is that everyone is pretty messed up, and that no decisions in life are really easy, but that you've gotta make the best out of the opportunities presented to you and the short time that you have. And that love above all is worthwhile. It makes everything worthwhile.

There have been low points, many low points, but there have also been moments of great beauty. Especially this summer, I've been so fortunate to see so many beautiful places in this world and to experience great joy. Life is so beautiful. Suffering is a part of that, and there is meaning in that too. Part of this contemplation comes from reading Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning. I would certainly recommend it. I think it is very insightful albeit depressing since he gives an account of his time as a prisoner in Auschwitz. And the other part comes in reflection of the lives of my family and friends who all seem to be weathering the storms right now. If you are the praying kind, your prayers are certainly appreciated, especially for my grandmother who is very sick.

Whoever you are that comes to read this, I just want to give you my love and tell you that you are unique. There is absolutely no one like you! And I hope you realize your own worth, and that you give love to those around you because it is the most important thing. And we all need it :)

"Set me as a seal upon your heart, as a seal upon your arm, for love is strong as death."
~Song of Solomon 8:6

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.