Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Go Towards the Light

Another day in Bryan Park, another shot with dramatic rays coming through the trees. This time I managed to catch a runner in my shot. There are a lot of runners and joggers that use the park. During this heatwave we've been having, a lot of them do their runs in the early morning.

I see a lot of the same people out running every morning. For some of them, I have created my own nick-names. This guy I had not seen before so I don't have one for him yet, but to other regulars I have given names such as: The Little Engine that Could - a woman who when running looks like a young child imitating a choo-choo train; The Flapper - a woman who flaps her arms from side to side as she runs (this is especially noticeable in the winter when she is wearing long sleeves that extend past her hands so that it looks like she has the flippers of a seal); then there is the Chariots of Fire guy who looks like he is about to come crashing through a ribboned finish line, and Crick-neck, a very sweet-looking old gentleman who has a bad bend in his neck (we always exchange a 'good morning' greeting as we pass one another). I don't use these names in a mean way, but only as a way of identifying these people to myself and a way for me to remember them after Mark and I move away, which will probably happen sometime next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.