A chef's day...

By chef

The English contribution to world cuisine,The Chip

A quote by John Cleese.

We make these every day and it ocurred to me I had never blipped them. After we cut them I hold them at 60C for 12 minutes to get the startch working, then they get cooked in the deep fat fryer at 120C until they are soft and then we cook them to order at 180C. If the correct potato is used (Maris Piper) the chip stays crispy for 10 minutes. More than 10 years ago I saw a program by Heston Blumenthal on the chip called in search of perfection and that's where I got the 1st stage from.

Had another interview today for an apprentice. the 11th. He was a very nice guy and let's hope something will come from it.

Tomorrow night Mrs Chef's family are coming to eat with me for the first time ever (in the restaurant) there will be 16 of them so that'll be fun! They all live in Kent so we don't see them as often as we like so it will be nice to show them what I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.