Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Meall a' Ghlas-Leothaid

On our way out of Gairloch, my niece Gillian and I seem to have snapped the same hill, which overlooks Loch Bad an Sgalaig.

She said that she would leave it to me to say what the hill was. Well, I had to look it up on the OS map; but I am totally inadequate when it comes to reading maps. I think that I have the name right, but am happy if any blippers know any different.

I will check with my colleagues at work who are in the Mountain Rescue. They can probably set me straight!

I had a lesson with Alison Kinnaird, my harp teacher, in Strathpeffer, and she taught us a wonderful version of "Marni Swanson of the Grey Coast" by Andy Thorburn. I have taught this tune to various players on keyboard, fiddle and guitar, so it is great to have a clarsach arrangement too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.