Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Different worlds.

Out in the garden today, I suddenly saw the first sight of the season of the posh boat "Hebridean Princess" which regularly sails past. I remember when this boat was first put in the water, my friend Catriona told me that it used to be called "The Claymore", and was an old cattle boat which used to sail to Tiree.

I took a few shots of it, and after I explored the link above, I suddenly realised that it was a total contrast to the old ruin opposite my house, occupied for most of its life by poor crofters.

I wonder what they would have thought of the old cattle boat's new role?

Of course, some crofters are doing well now, selling off plots of land for housing, so maybe the Princess has one or two crofters on board........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.