Too Much Too Little

Once again today's papers featured photos of severely malnourished Somalian children on the front page. In our house at 5:15 the routine is: Step 1 fetch the paper, remove the rubber band or plastic paper and lay it out on our table; Step 2 put on the kettle for tea water; Step 3 open the fridge for the milk for the tea.

This morning when I got to Step 3 I stopped cold with the image registered at Step 1looming in my mind's eye as I looked at the full fridge. This is the first photo of my 2nd year of posting on blipfoto - I am not a documentary photographer; however today I needed to make a connection to this situation and my enjoyment of simple beauty. In this case the beauty of bounty which I am so privileged to have. Step 4 this morning was to make a financial contribution to the effort to feed these kids.

I am so appreciative of all the support that came my way yesterday and have gone through all the Settings, adding notification of all blipfoto birthdays to my site - how else would one know? I plan to look at every person's site who wrote yesterday but that will take a little while to do. Thanks everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.