"to notice"

By mnaylor

Three Six Five

I have saved this image for today, my 365th day of posting a photo every single day. That does feel like a record and I know from reading others 365th day accounts, that is a common feeling.

Oddly, this one time greenhouse seems to disappear on me; kind of like a mirage, and then I am able to locate it again, but this morning not before going up and down the road three times. Somehow it being kind of hidden seems a good fit for the journey of noticing an image every day - so much is hidden if we do not stop and really look.

I am delighted to be a member of a community of those who notice. I wrote this in answer to the questions that Blip communications sends out when we hit 365: ?The 365 days have been a practice of looking at the world I live in right here in urban Seattle, freshly. My early artist statements when I was in art school spoke to noticing small mostly unnoticed little corners of our world; that is still very true for me. But looking every day has opened up many more small corners than I ever saw before. It is the noticing, the daily noticing, that is so important.?

And the community - thank you all for being out there - it would be so neat to have a big fest someplace in the world with all wearing signs around their neck of their site name - I do wonder how many would be present if all were to come??????

PS - I just went back to check my photo file and I posted another image taken on Jan. 8th. This place haunts me and that is part of my noticing, places I keep going back to over the course of a year because of the experience of taking photographs of it. I have not taken this in film yet, but am going to - soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.