An Old Airman's Life

By 1VintageAirman

Fort Worth Recreation Building

Across the railroad tracks and freeway from my condo sets the old Fort Worth Recreation Building. It has been in a state of disrepair since well before we moved here 4 years ago. Lots of folks talked about renovating it. One time I was going to be a brewery. Another time it was going to be a music venue. What it is and has been is a place for homeless men to hang out on the front steps. Smoking and beer drinking seems to the recreation of choice for those that use this building now.

I took shots of the windows - broken and otherwise. Shots of the walls both vertical into the brilliant blue sky and horizontal capturing the width of the brick structure. And I finished with the doors and its many chains and locks. As an after thought, I snapped two holes in the doors that used to have chains running through them. I had hoped to see inside, but did not hold out much hope. The sun being so strong, made the screen on my Nikon D-60 nearly useless. To my surprise when I move the shots to my computer, I could see clearly inside.

For those keeping track, it is 109 degrees at 15:25. We may make 111 degrees today. Yee Haw!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.