Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Hands

'So my hands are
the mirrors of my eyes..
interpreting
populating
transforming..'

Lennart Dahl


Thinking about hands I immediately thought of a lady called Monique. She was about fifty years older than me, had a wicked sense of humour and she was blind. I worked with her for over twelve years and we became very good friends. I was fascinated by her hands, the way she used them and relied on them to see for her. She read braille effortlessly, her fingers skimming across the page. I remember when Rowan was born Monique gently traced the outline of her wee face, it was the first time she had 'seen' a baby.

Without touch her world would have been darker still. Even with sight feeling someone's touch, however slight, can be reassuring. Life affirming even.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.