Day By Dave

By daybydave

Potato Bhajis

Tonight we ate at The Cinnamon Lounge. I know two things about Indian food. Actually I know three things. The one I forgot is that it isn't really something I'm keen on. The two I remembered first is that if you are vegetarian you want a Southern Indian menu. If you like spicy, hot food you chooose a Northern Indian restaurant.

The Lounge is Northern Indian. I tend only ever to have Kormas, not because I don't like spice and heat but because I can't stand fenugreek, curry leaf, or much coriander. And I love coconut. I can't get enough. So, korma for me then.

Their korma has approximately the same heat as Pizza Huts "Vege Hot One" Pizza which had double chilli's. It was easily as hot as sweet chilli sauce. M had a bhuna which was just short of self combustible. The bhajis we had were pretty mild, and my potato bhajis were actually quite excellent. The Saag Aloo was hotter than the korma and about as hot as the bhuna. Lord knows what a vindaloo of thal would be like!

So get yourself to Isleworth if you like hot currys and coat your mouth in asbestos if you err towards the mild.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.