Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Sea stars!

Until today I had never seen a live sea star, and now I've seen THOUSANDS. The tide at Yachats went waaaay out this morning, and there, clinging to the bottoms of all the rocks, were masses of these fascinating, star-spangled maroon, orange, ochre, and deep purple Pisaster ochraceus. I scampered around (carefully, cautious not to step on anybody) among the tidepools, flirting with the incoming tide, taking pictures till I was dizzy from delight and exertion.

Now I'm back in Portland, in my new apartment, which almost feels like home. I'm cross-eyed with exhaustion and a bit sun-burned, but very pleased and grateful for every gorgeous moment. Tomorrow I'll try to catch up with Blipping, and maybe I'll do a Blipfolio of Oregon coast pictures, since I have plenty to spare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.