Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Thoughtfully reflecting on the passage of time

A day of quiet reflection, of gratitude, of pondering and re-connecting with those I haven't seen for ten days while I was away. Here is my impossibly beautiful granddaughter in thoughtful mode.

Bringing in groceries before their visit, I got into the elevator with a woman I had not seen before. This is how it went between us:

Me: What a perfect summer day.
She: Summer's almost over.
Me: Ah, but it was a great ride!
She: I hate to see it go.
Me: You could say the same of life itself, couldn't you?
She: (Laughing) It's almost over. Hate to see it go.
In unison: But it was a great ride!

Probably not quite over, who knows...but at 66, looking at this seven-month-old tender face, I can't help thinking about what a ride it has been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.