55North

By cordelia

The Eagle Has Landed!

This brass eagle has had a colourful life.

It was bought at a car boot sale by my children many years ago to give to their grandma (my mother) for her birthday by pooling together their meagre pocket money (we were poor and they were quite young). I know that I hadn?t seen it in her house for years and assumed that she?s got rid of it as she does with everything (don?t get me started) but hadn?t said anything about its disappearance for the sake of peace.

I was quite surprised to find it among my father?s personal effects when he passed away earlier this year ? it took pride of place in his bedroom on the top of a dresser.

It?s now, as you can see, on the hearth in the old lounge in our 200 year old house and looks quite at home.

It?s history upto it arriving in our family is a mystery, but it?s future is safe for a number of years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.