Like fingerprints

By FrederiqueE12

Mini-farmer's market in Côte-des-Neiges

Went to Côte-des-Neiges tonight for an Armenian pizza which my sister had told me about on her visit two weeks ago. They did not have the one I wanted so I had the Lebanese version with sesame seeds and spices and I added black olives and hot peppers. It was good and new to me. Then walked to this small farmer's market for some fresh produce. Bought a bag full of tomatoes, Quebec cucumbers and a red pepper to make gazpacho which will last me the week I think. Got some Quebec slim asparagus, a big basket of local stawberries and a medium basket of Lac-St-Jean wild blueberries, the best in the world of course. Got some cauliflowers for a dish of them with bechamel and cheese grilled in the oven. All of this for $20 flush. This is not the biggest market in Montreal, it is just a neighbourhood small one. A lot of the time they have American produce which have travelled from quite far. But on a hazy Saturday evening in early August, it does nicely and the local produce is abundant. I will take you to the Jean-Talon or Atwater farmets' markets later, those are the big ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.