Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pounding On The Glass

Whew! More monsoon rain today. It beats going out to water the plants early in the day. It was slamming rain.

It blasts the southwest side of my house. Little wonder this, and the other two windows on this side were the ones that needed to be re-caulked because they were leaking.

We got 0.71" yesterday, too. I'll know tomorrow morning how much accumulated today.

The University of Arizona has a series of weather stations set up all over AZ and charts rainfall on a website called Rainlog.org. There is a station right in my neighborhood. I get an email the next day with a map of the area showing my house pinned and the rainfall totals scattered in the region.

It's a google map that I can maneuver but I can get totals only within a ten mile radius.

It only functions during the monsoon months of July through September. But it's cool because I can see my mom's house only a mile away. I might get an inch and she might get a trace.

That's the fickleness of the monsoon.

Sorry I've fallen behind in my commenting lately. My life has been hectic the last few days and promises to get worse as I try to gather up a committee to start working on my 40th HS reunion for next year, but I'll do my best to catch up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.