Angry red

When going to the IMAX cinema this evening to see Super 8 (absolutely brilliant!), I didn't imagine that I'd come out to such an anxious south London. We went for a drink, but soon decided to make our way home after reading the twitter feeds about Croydon, Woolwich and Peckham. The bus was crowded and diverted to avoid Walworth Road, which has a few of the shops that are being targeted by looters (selling mobile phones, trainers, clothes). I'm not sure if those shops have indeed been hit, but it seems the Morrison's has been.

We arrived in West Norwood safely, but we were alarmed by the powerful, acrid smell in the air. However, our area seems safe - all the shops (even the chicken shops!) have closed early. The burning is probably coming from Croydon, which is a few miles away, but the wind would have carried it to us. I feel so, so sad watching the footage online, with people's businesses and homes in flames. There are bound to be people who are hurt and homeless who had nothing to do with this except being in the wrong place at the wrong time. To say I'm horrified doesn't do justice to what I feel.

Thank you for all your concerns. I'll stay safe at home with the menagerie and won't step out the door if there's trouble between home and work.

I hope all of you in troubled areas stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.