The day after

Today was a normal work-day, which started to get a little frazzled by the time I was due to go home. There were rumours that trouble was starting up, that stations were closed, that buses were being targeted. So, I jumped on my bicycle thinking that as least I was mobile and could head away from trouble if I saw it (unlike on a bus where I'd feel trapped). So, I pedalled from the Strand to West Norwood and saw absolutely no trouble at all. In West Norwood, all the shops had shut early and the post office and one estate agent had boarded up their windows.

I must have caught the smell of fish and chips as I was cycling because I had a real craving for them. I thought that Gary would have shut his fish and chip shop due to the mob rumour, but he was open for business as usual. When I asked him about it, he said that if the looters wanted to steal his chips, they'd have to cook them first. He doesn't wish to be forced to shut early and so let the mob win. Gary is a hero! Thank goodness for chips.

I hope all stays quiet tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.