The waiting game

I had a busy day, starting with a CRB check in Camden in the morning. I had to show my passport, birth certificate, various bills, NI number and myself to the CRB checker. I'm pleased to say that I passed. I'm hoping to volunteer locally and some of that work may be in schools, so I have to have my CRB certificate. It'll be a few weeks and then I'll see where it takes me.

I had a little time before my next appointment so I wandered to St Pancras churchyard where I looked at the Hardy Tree and Soane's memorial. I then explored Camley Street Natural Park, where this heron caught my eye.

My two meetings took me over lunch where I was in the company of a large, enthusiastic group of folk who share my love of caffs and, in particular, chips and baked beans.

I had planned to do a spot of work at home before heading out to meet Si and Fred for table tennis. However, my best-laid plans were thrown way out the door when I met a confused 87 year old on the high street. She stopped me to ask me some questions about her rent and the post office, but it soon became clear that she was worried about all the unrest and wanted someone to talk to. She'd already been in the post office that week - the post office staff were very helpful and patient and we managed to convince her that she had paid her rent and collected her pension and needed to go home. An hour of chatting later, Simon texted me and I suddenly realized the time and that I needed to leave Doll. She said she knew where home was and went on her way. I was a little worried about her, but the post office man passed by on his way home and said that Doll was a regular and not to worry too much. I'll say "hello" when I next see her.

The game of table tennis was awesome. Si and I had a few good rallies, but really Si and Fred had the championship. I noticed that Fred didn't handicap himself by batting left-handed when playing against Si. I have a long way to go!

The police are certainly out in droves - very noticeable indeed and sometimes in very large convoys of police vans. It's welcome and there doesn't seem to be any trouble. Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.