Lasers!

I had a full day editing, with an hour off to visit the Greek Mausoleum in West Norwood Cemetery to find out what my stewarding duties are on Sunday. As part of the cultural Olympiad that runs alongside the Olympics, there are five carousels (modern-day magic lanterns) around London and one of the carousels features highlights from the Magnificent Seven London cemeteries (of which West Norwood is one). I'll be guiding people around the carousel, answering questions and making sure everyone respects the Greek Mausoleum. The guy who showed me the ropes is an amazing tour guide - enthusiastic with a head full of facts. I need to do some cemetery revision! The carousel itself is fab. I shall blip it on Sunday.

As it was such a glorious evening, Fred and I took the train into London to visit the launch of the Baltic Bicycle Company, and to look at their lovely bikes, then we walked through night-time London. At Holborn we came across a Supercar Soirée with some very fast and fancy cars. My favourite was this 1949 Buick, which was from the London Motor Museum.

Nearer the river, there was a huge party atmosphere - London was buzzing. I was impressed by the light shows over the London Eye and the National Theatre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.