Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Being Censusible

The Flies and the Honey-Pot


A NUMBER of Flies were attracted to a jar of honey which had been overturned in a housekeeper's room, and placing their feet in it, ate greedily. Their feet, however, became so smeared with the honey that they could not use their wings, nor release themselves, and were suffocated. Just as they were expiring, they exclaimed, "O foolish creatures that we are, for the sake of a little pleasure we have destroyed ourselves."

Pleasure bought with pains, hurts.


This fable minds me somehow of the riots in London. Unfortunately, at least so far it's other people who have been hurt. Thankfully my relatives in London are safe. I hope all our London blippers are too.

Now, this photo needs some explanation, I guess.

I hadn't intended to blip this today, but had no opportunity to take a photo through the day, and the few shots I took on the way home, in the dark, with trails of car tail lights, were pretty crap.

So what is this anyway? It's census night, that's what. Why did I choose my answer to this question to blip? Because we are increasingly beset by blindly irrational bible literalists whose stated (denied when challenged, then later reasserted) goal is to "make disciples" - of primary school children. There's more - much more - that these horrid individuals and organisations do, but that's the main one bugging me. So I resiled from my previous practice of recording "Jedi" or something else foolish in the religion question. Anything I can do to make it harder for revolting weasels like Fred Nile, George Pell, Jim Wallace and the Australian Christian Lobby, Danny Nahlia, Peter Jensen, and the others like them, I will do.

I have no problem with anyone believing ... Ok that's not quite true. I admit I do. But it doesn't actually matter what I think; their belief is completely up to them, and is none of my business. What I really have a problem with, is people who not only have a problem with my (and my children's) lack of faith, but think they should therefore be allowed to proselytise at my children, and blame me and my fellow non-believers for all of society's ills. And when they get called out on that, they cry intolerance and persecution.

Feh.

#RantyMcRantyPants

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.