Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Buddhapadipa Temple, Wimbeldon, London

- Backblip -

A sightseeing tour of Wimbeldon. I was expecting to go to the All England Lawn Tennis Club, but instead we turn into a very smart residential area, and behind a large house, a Buddhist Thai Temple and garden. A haven of tranquility in this busy, noisy city. More here.

Finding a robed monk shooting flowers with his Canon 5D Mark II was certainly the highlight, but I felt it rather inappropriate to ask to Blip him. He was very welcoming and interested to know what camera and lens I was using. I expect some of his photographs are on the website link above.

Onwards to Wimbeldon Common, to see the London Scottish Golf Club, Windmill and horse trails, followed by icecreams and bramble picking.

Later on, the boys were given a lesson in waveboarding by nephew with fractured wrist. I was nervous, very nervous. He was good. My #2 did rather well after half an hour's tuition on a long pavement at their local common. #1 had a go ... and gave up. Probably a wise decision, as I didn't want another visit to Kingston fracture clinic.

On said common, I was nearly hit by an aeroplane. A rather large model one, and too close a call. I might have ended up in fracture clinic too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.