Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Strange diversions...

[final image on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1332101]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

This is yet another rescue of a 'not very good shot' - just no time for photography this week.

So, starting from a RAW file again, I adjusted the exposure and brightness as well as the blacks to bring back a bit of the depth that was missing. I then opened it in Photoshop and processed the RAW file again. This time to really bring out the detail in the sky. Opened again in Photoshop, copied the file and pasted it onto the first version. Using layer masks I painted out the bits of the image I wanted to reveal to give a balanced exposure. Now, admittedly I haven't done this very well because I'm kinda tired, but you get the picture! Once I'd done that, I flattened the image, then used Silver Efex Pro to convert it to black and white. Bit of dodging and burning to bring out other bits of detail. Sharpened the edges and finished.

Doing a photo a day is hard work sometimes. Although this is only my 25th shot in a row on this journal, over on my Kinda Horrigans journal it's at 530 continuous days... and this is the difficult bit about having this journal. Describing what I did to rescue a shot that if I weren't doing a shot a day, I wouldn't have bothered saving!

Tip of the Day:
Nothing related to today's shot, but I saw an article on 15 Forced Perspective Technique Examples which cheered up my photographic head today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.