Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Morning View

I woke up a while before breakfast and decided that I was in a listening mood so treated myself to Peter Grimes on the MP3 player under the covers! I should, of course, have had a hangover after sinking a bottle of feisty red, but I'm lucky in that I'm not prone to them, and even though I can't drink as much as I could when I was younger, I'm still pretty tolerant of most of its effects!

I also logged on to the internet on my phone and read the news - there seemed to have been riots going on. I followed it up as best I could, reading on a slow connection on the phone.

By the time it was all going pear-shaped for Grimes with the second apprentice, it was time for breakfast. I got up, showered, and opened the curtains - I couldn't resist taking this picture - so Welsh to open the curtains and see the sheep outside!!! If you want to know more about the place I was staying, you can see find information here!

Over breakfast I mentioned the riots and we then went through to the sitting room where our host put News24 on (he has Sky TV). We were shocked to see what had been happening in cities across the UK, and particularly in London. I had been planning to leave Wales straight after breakfast, but stayed for a while to see the news and to catch up with what had been happening.

I left around midday, and had a long slow journey home - slow drivers on small roads, trucks, tractors, the lot. At one point I felt sleepy so stopped and downed an energy drink.

It was good to be home. I didn't manage to unpack - too tired - but did greet all the cats, and go and spend some time with the little rat-men!

Best of all, of course, was seeing the Wonderspouse again. He was glad to have me home - his Mum had been back to hospital and she has to go again for further tests, and he's definitely worried about her, so it was good to be home for him.

We did stay up to watch the news, to get the latest on the rioting. Utterly shocking.

The trip to Wales was lovely though - spending a morning playing chamber music was fabulous, and the success with the Telemann was very encouraging!

I went to bed with a real mix of emotions: success of the Wales trip, concern for my Mother-in-Law, and shock at the senseless violence going on in cities I know and love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.