4.5mph

That's the average speed of a housefly according to all things Googleish. I'd've thought it would be faster from the way they zip around the place and how difficult it is to try and shoot them out of the air with a pinged elastic band.

It's not easy to try and get a close-up pic of them flying either. You'd have to take hundreds of shots in the hope that one would be in the right place, in focus and exposed correctly as it buzzed about. Yep, not easy at all.

Much easier to swat one, turn it on its back, take a picture of it sparked out on the window sill, then flip it upside down.

As I fiddled with my fly here this afternoon I got to thinking; is there any other animal or insect that's been named exactly by what it does as clearly as this? I mean, what does a fly do? It flies, so we'll call it a fly. I've been all around the farmyard, part way around the zoo and dipped into the ocean but couldn't think of any other creatures named after what it is they do.

Day two back at work, it rained all day, plans didn't go to plan, computers wouldn't play, my mind wandered.

Can you tell?

PS: The management accept no responsibility for damaged laptops if you drop it trying to see this upside down, or for any physical damage to any individuals attempting a handstand to do the same.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.