LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

When Saturday Comes

Another football filled weekend approaches. Watching Dunfermline tomorrow, up in Perth, then playing on Sunday for the first time in a few weeks. I play in goals, or more accurately, I try to play in goals, so I spend a fair amount of time between sticks like these.

These goals are on a pitch on the outskirts of Linwood, near the fantastically named Kashmir Avenue! I was actually in someone else's car this morning and we took a wrong turn on the way to a meeting when I first saw this. When the meeting was finished, I went back in my car to blip this.

This week I have been to Wembley and Hampden, watching some world class players who earn millions and play on pitches that look like bowling greens. But if there had been two pub teams playing on this pitch in the pouring rain when I passed, there's a fair chance I would've stopped to watch. Every member of the Scotland team who played on Wednesday night will have started out on pitches like this. For most of us, we never leave these pitches...but love the beautiful game all the same.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.