Strange World

By strangeworld

Rescue

One of the most fabulous days!

The largest full scale disaster drill ever in Illinois was held Wednesday at a local college campus. There were nearly two dozen communities involved. Hundreds of responders and victims.

The drill was based on a 1967 incident which involved a plane crash and multiple tornados. The executive director of the operation happens to be a very good friend of mine. She invited me to be the exclusive photographer of the event. No media allowed.

It was an incredible experience. As I was looking for a good place to shoot the mock plane crash site, I met a building maintenance guy who happily allowed me rooftop access. The event lasted five hours and I shot over 400 amazing images. It was so hard to pick just one to post.

It was a high intensity day and very educational. And the campus was surprisingly large when you have to hoof it across the grounds a hundred times trying to keep up with all of the activity.

I just bought a new camera which will be delivered next week.
I'm excited! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.