The rest of forever...

By DrMac

Just monkeying around...

Today, Sunday...tourist time! I know Paul lives here now but I am eager to explore Nepal! So this morning we visited Boudhanath, a World Heritage Site and the most significant Buddhist monument in the world. I took lots of pictures...and then we headed south to Pashupatinath, Nepal's most holy Hindu temple. Here Nepalis choose to be cremated on the bank of the holy Bagmati River and we witnessed a multitude of cremation ghats, with bodies wrapped in cloth and placed on wooden pyres.

The two places gave such different experiences...the calm, cleanliness and serenity of the buddhist stupa...the hustle, smoke, smells and debris of the ghats. I took so many photos but most of them felt inappropriate to blip. However, at Pashupatinath we encountered many monkeys...indeed, this little fellow sat down next to me and started to munch. He is my symbol for today...a demonstration of thoughtful contemplation and calm. Happy Sunday to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.