The rest of forever...

By DrMac

Where is the love?

After my usual gym session this morning, I visited Kathmandu Zoo. Our house is a stones throw from the zoo, probably about 150m to be more precise. Sometimes we hear the animals in the nightime hours.

It must be said that I'm not a fan of any 'zoo'. I'd rather never see an animal than see it locked up in an enclosure, paraded in front of strange eyes. However, I thought I should visit, contributing some money to their upkeep, taking some photos and enjoying the views. To be fair, some of the animals are in really nice settings. They have company, plenty of space to play in and seem very content. Others, however, were not. It hurt me to see leopards and other such wild creatures pacing around tiny spaces. This little chap looked particularly forlorn. I wish they had managed to escape through that big whole in the wall!

One highlight was the elephant. A solitary chap, he was in his elements soaking himself in the lake and feeding from lush grass. He was a poppet. And the buddhist monks on a day trip to the zoo...playing in the kiddies playground!It was a very sunny day so some photographs came out badly...I'll go back next week to contribute a few more rupees and take a few more shots of nelly.

The rest of the day included a second gym session, a bit of photography work and some food on a few occasions! Normal stuff, really! My little lady came for a 'cuddle' of her own accord and the puppy and his parents came for a biscuit as I left the gym tonight. Note to self...must buy more dog biscuits at the weekend!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.