Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

First In a While

Like Blipping, it has been a while since I last rode a time trial mainly due to being busy or races being on my weekends away, so for the first time since May, I rolled the Stealth out for a race of truth.

Having been training constantly with a mixture of gym work, swimming, running and cycling, loosing a bit of weight and gaining some strength, I was still apprehensive about what could be achieved not having raced for 3 months. The course was up near Forres for the Audrey Gault 10, a flat-ish (compared to a lot of the time trial courses in Aberdeenshire) course which I was hoping would at least be a season's PB, being near the coast there was also a blowy southerly wind which was fantastic on the way out, 5 miles done in 11:38, but proved hard work coming back not only being hard to cycle in to, but also hard to keep the bike going in a straight line with my deep section wheels.

Not being used to pushing so hard I really struggled on the way back and crossed the line in 28:03, still a season's PB by a handful of seconds, but disappointing not to have gone faster. It was good to see the three other YthanCC guys were in the 25's and 27 minute mark.

I got home with my legs barely wanting to function, had a quick shower, and headed back out into Aberdeen to see a cover band, The Chandeliers, at Cafe Drummonds, the music was brilliant and even though myself and Ali were not drinking, it was still a good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.