Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Fickle weather!

We had been enjoying such lovely summer weather, although I did grumble some about the heat!

Last night, we drove up to Canandaigua...the skies began to darken to the north and it looked like some a storm was coming. We stopped in a parking lot for awhile and saw such an incredible lightning display! As strange as it sounds, the Full Moon was shining in its glory to our east! Talk about contrasts!

We drove home and the lightning show accompanied us all the way. It is very unusual for our woods to have much in the way of thunder and lightning, but we did last night! Then, suddenly, the heavens opened wide and the rain poured down mercilessly!

Today began semi-clear, but the skies darkened early on and remained so the entire daywith rain falling again and again! Upon going outside to look for some photo ops, there was no activity! No bees, no butterflies, no nothin'! Just rain and sprinkles of rain.While outside, the sun peeked out from the dark sky and I happened to capture a glimpse of the steam on the meadow.

I love this time of the year.....I was born in late August and I love the sense of anticipating the arrival of autumn. It seems to me that the trees and greenery put on an awesome display, as though trying to keep their green color instead of changing it. I have always been mindful that everything green seems so much more intense in the waning days of August, although I have been told others don't sense that....

Perhaps it is the wee bit o' Irish that appreciates all things green. And maybe that little bit allows me to see those "extra" shades of green! No matter. This photo is in my woods, near the house and this photo just really pleased me today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.