Polar blast...

...coming to a town near you.

New Zealand is a long skinny country with climate moderated by the sea that surrounds us. Wlile snow in the high country and alpine areas is common, snow to sea level doesn't happen often so we get a little excited. Even the north has snow (or think they saw a few flakes).

I had more snow than July but it turned slushy quickly this afternoon. I slithered down to the river and managed to accidentally step through the icing on the quake. Serious earthquake cracks beside the river were hidden by snow and I suddenly found one as I disappeared nearly knee deep. Fortunately it was gentle rather than bone shattering.

I learned my lesson from July and moved snow from my paths (12-20cm) and created a track between house and garage while it was light and fluffy. It's seriously snowing again tonight so I might have to repeat that tomorrow. We could have at least another day of this yet.

I'm seriously thinking of buying a proper snow shovel. I saw a man using one with a wide plastic scoop shaped shovel and it looked much easier and effective. Any ideas northern hemisphere blippers?

Good news from Mum today. She had to sit a driving test this morning. The weather would have been challenging but she passed. Well done Mum!

Thanks for your lovely comments on the portrait I took of her 2 days ago. I'm not sure she's seen it yet but I'll let her know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.