Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Girlie and light...

... and pretty and bright

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1341990]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

I used my Lensbaby Composer Lens again (f/4 aperture ring and +4 macro) with this image, but most editing here was done with the RAW file. I was after a very pale pastel pink so increased the exposure by +1.25, increased the brightness by +10 and reduced the black to 1. I also increased the clarity by +15.

Then, opened the image in Photoshop and used Filter > Distortion > Lens Correction to straighten it a tad, then added two adjustment layers - one for Hue/Saturation (increasing saturation by +10 and brightness by +5), then another which was a warming photo filter (this time using a black brush on a white layer mask to remove the effect from the centre of the flower). After that, I cloned out a bit of another flower's foliage which was smudging its way into shot, then did a teensy bit of dodging and burning on the flower... a bit of sharpening... and done.

Oh, and if you're wondering, the pale pink background is just a pink envelope held behind the flower!

Tip of the day:
I like nice simple, strong subjects when I take shots - and saw this article today about How to make your subject the main point of interest and thought it tied in quite nicely to my v.simple approach to photography!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.