Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

And you still have to love them...

... even when they look like this

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1344185]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Yes, I know this is a hideous portrait! But - it really was a desperation day and my daughter wasn't playing ball!

So, in-camera details. This was shot at ISO 400 because the indoor light wasn't great and when taking pics of children, having a slower shutter speed and a lower ISO isn't always an option due to their propensity for moving about! It's also got a wide aperture of f/1.8 because that way you can get a nice sharp eye and soften the rest of the features which tends to work nicely with portraits - plus, it allows in more light, so again, the shutter speed can be faster.

Anyway, once that bit was done, I took the RAW file, bumped up the exposure by +1.25 and dropped the blacks to +2. Then, opening it in Photoshop, I used the technique I mentioned on this blip to bring out the detail in her eyes. After that, it was converted to black and white using Silver Efex Pro - increasing the structure and contrast to bring out the detail. Then, a final bit of dodging and burning (dodging = making bits lighter, burning = making bits darker) just to make sure that the iris etc could still be seem okay.

I flattened the layers, duplicated the background, applied some shapening using then high pass filter and layer mask with a black brush to remove the sharpening from the skin - sharpening things which are meant to be soft for example, skin and clouds always looks a bit odd, so it's best to watch what you sharpen. And that was it.

Tip of the Day:
Having taken this shot, I saw an article which gives 50 super surreal photographs and decided, in a very loose way, that they were connected some how! If nothing else to give me some ideas for other days when my head is empty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.