earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Heather Trail

At this time of year my favourite trails around the lower sections of the moor are completely enveloped by bracken fronds and become virtually impassable. August is the time to take to the high moor where there is a marvelous network of narrow trails like this one. The heather seems to be in full bloom right now. There was no sun this evening to show it off at its best, but it was still spectacular. There is no better time of the year to take a late evening walk or run on the moor. It amazes me how few people do. I rarely see a soul up there!

Thanks for all the wonderful comments on yesterday's blip. It actually made me appreciate the view in a new light, being able to enjoy it vicariously through your eyes! This landscape of the Yorkshire Dales is very special. The dry limestone walls enclosing the fields make it possibly quite unique in the entire world. I fell in love with it when I first visited the area on a caving expedition at university and vowed then that I would one day come to live here. I have no regrets.

To answer your questions:

First, the missing riders got home safe and sound, although their morning was described as "eventful". I have hesitated over inquiring for more details!

Second, no I did not meet my deadline, hence back to work and probably no chance to browse amongst your journals until tomorrow evening. Wish me luck. It may be a long night.

PS Bittersweet has invaded my territory! She's spun this scarcely credible story over the last week or so, pretending that she was supposed to be going to Italy, while all along she was planning this invasion of my beloved adopted county. Her camera has already captured one stunning image. I fear for what she will steal tomorrow with that deadly lens of hers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.