Forgotten Corner

There was some brightness this morning, but that has since given way to leaden skies and torrential downpours. I have a leak in my office. Sitting at my desk this afternoon, I could feel a light spray waft over me as the deluge outside was somehow being driven inside by the wind. We've had people in a few times to try to sort it out, but it only happens when the wind is in a certain direction and they've clearly failed to find the source. It was actually quite refreshing.

The weather plus a mass of little things to sort out today has overtaken the possibility of getting any other blip than this taken on the walk to work this morning. I can see the spot from where this was taken, under a bridge, from my office window. When the rain hit this afternoon there were quite a few people seeking shelter here. It's a forgotten little corner, where an inlet off the canal was once used to load and unload goods. This is really prime real estate. I can't imagine that it will be too long before this building and the wharf is developed into office space like our own. It would be cool to think that I might still be blipping when that happens. There is a certain charm to the dereliction here, but it would be good to see the building restored to its former glory and being used again.

I have a date now with eldest son to go running. Inspired by the Olympics, he's still keen to get fit. We went out a couple of days ago and he suffered a little bit. He'll get fit fast though. It probably won't be too long before it will be him that will be making me suffer!

Thanks once again for the support of my journal. My life is always busy, but this last few weeks have been completely filled to the brim. I've been working long hours in order to be able to take a little time off, and that's happening over the next few days. I'm leaving on a little trip at the crack of dawn tomorrow morning. It's a long time since I've felt I've needed a little break as much as this one. I really appreciate you bearing with me. All I can do at the moment is to try to keep up the standard in entertainment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.