rogerthedodger

By rogerthedodger

Traveling Light

I can remember the days when I used to cart about 4 bodies and 6-8 lenses around, not to mention film, filters and a heap of other guff. About six months ago I found a little digital camera I really liked. Now my working kit consists of what you see here. A notebook, fountain pen, pencil and a beautiful silver ball point my son and daughter-in-law bought for my birthday (one of my greatest treasures). The camera has been primped a bit. I've put on an old Leica 50mm viewfinder and the camera is set to open at 50mm equivalent. The elastic bands serve a useful purpose. The green one stops the finder from slipping out and the brown one covers little levers which can be moved accidentally. It's got a five dollar filter tube and an old Nikon 24mm hood. This setup makes it possible to use at eye level and it's very fast for street shooting. I use the notebook for day to day notes, story notes. I write on the facing page. On the opposite page I stick little scrap book type things - stamps, theatre tickets, menus - whatever comes to hand which may be useful reminders. The bag is a beautiful leather number I've used for over 16 years and it will outlive me. Now and then I polish it. So my total shooting kit now weighs in at about 2kg against about 15kg of yesteryear. Sheer bliss. Oh yes, and the ubiquitous iPhone. I posted this after seeing somebody's notebook on a Blip yesterday so I've been a copycat, sort of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.