CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The farrier calls

I seemed to be going round in circles today, not achieving as much as I wanted. My last port of call was to get a few odd ingredients from our local corner shop for the dinner I am cooking tonight for our guests.

I parked in the surprisingly empty car park, and as I got out of the car, I noticed this very long van, and the horseshoes in particular. I wondered whether Waitrose was going back into horse drawn deliveries for the online shopping service, which their banner is advertising, seen here below their logo.

I don't remember seeing a mobile farrier or a blacksmith's shop for decades, although round here they must have good business, as it can be a very horsey county. I do know though that there was a blacksmith's workshop about three hundred yards down the road, until the second world war.

Just as I finished, a lady who was passing on her way to the shop, asked me rather quizzically what on earth I was taking a picture of. You might be asking me too having seen this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.