CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Moth resting early in the morning

I awoke rather too early at 5am this morning. After realising I wasn't going to get back to sleep, I got up and went downstairs to make tea and feed Bomble, who was very pleased to see me up at such an hour.

I saw a moth sitting on the draining board in the kitchen and decided to rescue it from its rather precarious perch, which was likely to get rather wet. I moved it gingerly on to a piece of kitchen paper and took it to the rear dining room and put it and the paper on the writing desk. My camera was nearby and I thought I would use the time 'wisely' or at least productively.

Unfortunately, I forgot to check the ISO setting, which was set for a night-time exterior shot. But probably it was just as well given the still rather limited early morning light. I've accentuated the colours a bit as I always like the effect of cut glass reflections and refractions. The moth had flown away within a couple of hours.

Later this afternoon, I went to see John W, who showed me some test shots he has constructed of 3D micro-photographs of Cotswold limestone, some lichens and a piece of original oak, dated to 1680, taken from a local shop in the high street. We watched them on his laptop using 3D glasses. Amazing stuff, which hopefully he will be showing later in the year at the exhibition celebrating Stroud Preservation Trust's 30th anniversary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.