Lazy Guy

By faizanahmad

Cactus has died.

"I bought a cactus. A week later it died. And I got depressed, because I thought, Damn. I am less nurturing than a desert." (Demetri Martin)

Cactus

Cactus!

Oh, what a sad sight,
My cactus potted plant has died.

Cactus, you rise like phoenix,
You survive in hot low desert,
You flourish in cold high desert,
Why you have to die in my nice flat?

You survive gun shots,
You survive arsons,
You survive blustery winds,
Why you parted from a place with all the comforts?

You protect yourself from intruders with your thorny spine,
You survive human onslaught as they seek in you potent herbs and wine,
Your pretty flowers give me inspirations to survive when I am alone,
You are immortal, but why you have to leave me alone?

In the wilderness of hot desert or high prairies,
Nature provides you ample moisture to keep you succulent,
I did not water you for past three years,
It's my mistake, May be a few drops of water will bring you back,
I wish we could do the same to bring back our loved one by accepting our mistakes.

(Jay P Narain)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.