earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Heather Moorland

The Bigger Picture

First, many thanks for all the feedback on yesterday's Beauty or Beast? The consensus certainly seems to be that wind turbines are an acceptable addition to the landscape - provided that there is a sensitivity to the scale and the placement. I find them very photogenic, so I'll probably be blipping them again over the coming months. Special thanks are due to everyone who has left comments because I just haven't found any spare time to reciprocate as I would like to this week.

After another late night my body rather bizarrely decided to raise me out of a deep sleep at the crack of dawn. I was wide awake at 5.30am just in time to watch a nice sunrise, although not a spectacular one. As with the sunsets this summer, it seems to be a case of all or nothing with the sky. It's either heavily overcast or completely clear. Something in the middle would be really welcome one evening!

Just like last night the clouds rolled back at around seven o'clock to leave clear skies. I decided to go for a run on the moor to witness the evening light on the heather. It was an incredible sight. As is often the case I've had trouble choosing which image to post but decided on this in the end as it is something of an iconic shot, looking west up Wharfedale from a point just beyond the boundary markers which delineate Ilklley Moor from Burley Moor. I hope it gives some flavour of how pretty the moor is looking right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.